IRVING, Texas – Texas Tech women's basketball players Brittany Brewer and Chrislyn Carr have both earned Preseason All-Big 12 honors the conference announced Wednesday. Brewer was named to the Preseason All-Big 12 Team, while Carr earned honorable mention Preseason All-Big 12 recognition. The awards and team are chosen by head coaches, who were not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.

Brewer's selection comes after a breakout junior campaign in which she averaged 16.6 points, 9.1 rebounds and 2.3 blocks per game on the way to an honorable mention All-Big 12 selection—the first all-conference honor of her career.

The Abilene, Texas, native shot a career best 52.8 percent from the field, ranking fourth in the Big 12. Brewer scored 20-plus points in games in 2018-19, while also compiling 13 double-doubles to lead the Big 12 and rank in the top 25 nationally.

Brewer looks to build on a productive summer of development in which she competed with Team USA at the Pan American Games in Lima, Peru. Brewer and the U.S. advanced to the finals at the tournament and brought home a silver medal. She was one of two Big 12 players to make the team and became the first Lady Raider player to make the Pan Am team in 24 years, when Texas Tech legend Sheryl Swoopes earned a spot on the United States' roster in 1995.

Carr was named Big 12 Freshman of the Year a season ago and was also an honorable mention All-Big 12 pick after averaging 18 points per game to lead the nation's freshmen. She was a five-time Big 12 Freshman of the Week last season and was named the USBWA National Freshman of the Week after a 35-point outing at Nevada.

Baylor's Te'a Cooper was selected as the league's Preseason Newcomer of the Year, and Celeste Taylor of Texas was named Big 12 Preseason Freshman of the Year.

Joining Brewer on the Preseason All-Big 12 Team is Preseason Big 12 Player of the Year Lauren Cox (Baylor), as well as Juicy Landrum (Baylor), NaLyssa Smith (Baylor), Kristin Scott (Iowa State), Peyton Williams (K-State), Ana Llanusa (Oklahoma), Vivian Gray (Oklahoma State), Joyner Holmes (Texas), Sug Sutton (Texas) and Tynice Martin (West Virginia). Also listed on the honorable mention list are Te'a Cooper (Baylor), DiDi Richards (Baylor), Ashley Joens (Iowa State), Rachel Ranke (K-State), Kianna Ray (TCU), Charli Collier (Texas), Lashann Higgs (Texas), Kari Niblack (West Virginia) and Madisen Smith (West Virginia).

Fans can renew their season tickets or purchase new season tickets in person at the Texas Tech Athletics Ticket Office located on the East Side of Jones AT&T Stadium, over the phone at (806) 742-8324 or online at Information on single-game tickets and mini-plans will be announced at a later date by the Tech Athletics Ticket Office.

Preseason Player of the Year
Lauren Cox, Baylor, F, 6-4, Sr, Flower Mound, Texas

Preseason Newcomer of the Year
Te'a Cooper, Baylor, G, 5-8, Gr, Powder Springs, Ga.

Preseason Freshman of the Year
Celeste Taylor, Texas, G, 5-11, Valley Stream, N.Y.

Preseason All-Big 12 Team
Lauren Cox, Baylor
Juicy Landrum, Baylor
NaLyssa Smith, Baylor
Kristin Scott, Iowa State
Peyton Williams, K-State
Ana Llanusa, Oklahoma
Vivian Gray, Oklahoma State
Joyner Holmes, Texas
Sug Sutton, Texas
Brittany Brewer, Texas Tech
Tynice Martin, West Virginia

Honorable Mention (listed alphabetically by school)
Te'a Cooper (Baylor), DiDi Richards (Baylor), Ashley Joens (Iowa State), Rachel Ranke (K-State), Kianna Ray (TCU), Charli Collier (Texas), Lashann Higgs (Texas), Chrislyn Carr (Texas Tech), Kari Niblack (West Virginia) and Madisen Smith (West Virginia).